Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rosenau, Terhaar, Heller get MIAC Elite 22 honors

Nathan Lodermeier photo
Nathan Lodermeier photo


MIAC news release


St. Thomas student-athletes received three of the six Elite 22 Awards for the 2018-19 spring sports season. All three helped the Tommies repeat as MIAC team champions in their respective sport.

The annual award, initiated in 2013-14, goes to one top male and female in each of the 22 sports that hold MIAC championships.

The eligible honorees must have the top grade-point average in their sport and meet certain playing or achievement standards.

In men's outdoor track and field, St. Thomas senior Parker Rosenau was honored. The West Fargo, N.D., native was MIAC runner-up in the steeplechase earlier this month. A Neuroscience major, Rosenau has maintained a 3.98 gpa. He also recevied the award last fall in cross country and last spring in outdoor track and field.

In women's outdoor track and field, St. Thomas junior Mariah Terhaar was honored. The Stewartville, Minn., native was conference runner-up in the pole vault and took sixth in the high jump earlier this month at the league meet. She's a Biology major with a 3.97 gpa. Terhaar also received the award last March for the 2019 indoor track and field season.

Softball's award went to Tommie junior Jayden Heller for the second year in a row. She has played in 36 games for the Tommies, starting 10, and is batted .406 with eight runs scored and 13 hits. Off the field, The Kilkenny, Minn., native boasts a 3.97 gpa majoring in Middle/Secondary Education.



Tommie student athletes have received Elite 22 honors a league-best 46 times in the award's six-year history.

In all sports with MIAC team postseason tournaments, including softball, the MIAC Elite 22 Award is presented to the individual with the highest grade-point average on the active roster at the MIAC Playoff championship contest. In outdoor track and field, the winner is the individual with the highest gpa who was named all-conference. The recipient must be a sophomore, junior or senior and in at least his or her second season of competition with their current team.